What We’re Reading Wednesday

This is a new feature for us – a way for the committee to share with you the books that have captured our attention or indeed our hearts.

As Library professionals we handle hundreds of books each day: books (and anecdotes about those books) are handed back to us at the issue desk, we pore over the book stock on the library shelves, we hear about books we want to read on twitter, we look up reviews, we follow blogs and instagram accounts, we recommend and have books recommended to us and of course we read, read and then read some more. We’d like this to be a way to record that reading as well as a place to share knowledge and recommendations.

Becky kicks things off for us with a rather serendipitous choice – a fantastic read to promote as part of 2015’s Anti Bullying Week 2015 (16th – 20th Nov).

I have just finished a book that I know will stay with me for a long, long time…

Wonder - R J Palacio

Wonder by R.J Palacio was released back in 2012 to much critical acclaim. It won multiple awards and was a #1 New York Times Bestseller, however somehow the hype seemed to pass me by. I had never actually heard of the book, until one of the kids in the library recommended it to me. I will be ever grateful that he did! Wonder tells the story of August Pullman – a child born with a severe and pronounced facial disfigurement. The books follows August or ‘Auggie’ as we come to lovingly know him, as he starts school.

Working in a school, I see first-hand how intolerant children can be to any sort of difference and I feel that this book tackles that notion in the most elegant and effective way.

His journey is beautifully told from multiple perspectives and though it is unbearably heart-breaking in parts, the overall themes of the book are that of true friendship and astounding courage. I was weeping big fat tears by the last page of this book but I found the experience strangely cathartic. Working in a school, I see first-hand how intolerant children can be to any sort of difference and I feel that this book tackles that notion in the most elegant and effective way. I shall be recommending this book to all I meet for a long time to come.

 

Leave a Reply

